

September 18, 2015

His Excellency Ali Larijani Speaker of the Iranian Parliament (Majles) Tehran Islamic Republic of Iran

Your Excellency:

As the International Panel of Parliamentarians for Freedom of Religion or Belief, we write as a network of parliamentarians from diverse political, religious and geographical backgrounds to express grave concerns about limitations on freedom of religion or belief in your country. We are alarmed by ongoing reports of violations of this fundamental freedom for religious minorities, including Christians and the Bahá'ís. We respectfully ask you to ensure that all individuals in Iran, be they Muslim, Christian, Bahá'í, Atheist, Zoroastrian, Jew or from another faith, can fully enjoy freedom of religion or belief without fear of violence or discrimination.

We are particularly concerned about Pastor Saeed Abedini, who has been jailed for nearly three years. We understand he has been held in intolerable conditions for merely peacefully exercising his faith in private homes. We specifically request the release of Mr. Abedini, as well as other Christians, including Behnam Irani, Maryam (Naseem) Naghash-Zargaran, Ebrahim Firouzi, and Ata Babaei, who are detained apparently for no other reason than the peaceful exercise of their Christian faith. We are also gravely concerned about the reports of recent closures of churches in Iran, an act that restricts the ability of Christians to assemble peacefully for religious study.

We have received reports about the continued harassment and arrest of members of the Sufi Muslim community, including prominent leaders from the Nematollahi Gonabadi Order. We are especially worried about the case of seven Bahá'í leaders, also called the Yaran, who were arrested in 2008 and sentenced to 20 years imprisonment in 2010: Mrs. Fariba Kamalabadi; Mr. Jamaloddin Khanjani; Mr. Afif Naeimi; Mr. Saeid Rezaie; Mrs. Mahvash Sabet; Mr. Behrouz Tavakkoli; and Mr. Vahid Tizfahm. It has come to our attention that they have been harshly treated while in prison and denied the right to temporary leave from prison, which they are legally entitled to.

Mr. Speaker, as parliamentarians we understand your position in the Iranian system and the separation of powers from the judiciary and executive branches. At the same time, Iran is a state party to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights and is therefore obliged to adhere to Article 18, which guarantees freedom of religion or belief for everyone. We respectfully petition your prompt intervention in the cases of the seven Bahá'í leaders and the imprisoned Christians, as well as all other prisoners of faith, to ensure they are immediately released, that their human rights are respected, and that Iran lives up to its international obligations.

www.IPPFoRB.com
-----------------

## Sincerely,

Baroness Elizabeth Berridge

**United Kingdom** 

IPP Steering Committee

Abid Raja, MP

Norway

IPP Steering Committee

Senad Sepic, MP

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Son Chhay, MP

Cambodia

Leon Benoit, MP

Canada

Russ Hiebert, MP

Canada

James Lunney, MP

Canada

Senator Thanh Hai Ngo

Canada

Lucien Yaliki, MP

Central African Republic

Ammo Aziza Baroud, MP

Chad

Mamadi Moussa Mamadi, MP

Chad

Jorge Rathgeb, MP

Chile

Mario Redondo Poveda, MP

Costa Rica

Gonzalo Ramirez Zamora, MP

Costa Rica

David Anderson, MP

Canada

**IPP Steering Committee** 

Leonardo Quintao, MP

Brazil

IPP Steering Committee

Senator Ehab El Kharrat

Egypt

Bonner Francisco Jimenez Belloso, MP

El Salvador

Peter van Dalen, MEP European Parliament

Chiora Taktakishvili, MP

Georgia

Zurab Japaridze, MP

Georgia

Steffen Bilger, MP

Germany

Frank Heinrich, MP

Germany

Heribert Hirte, MP

Germany

Volker Kauder, MP

Germany

Volkmar Klein, MP

Germany

Claudia Lückling-Michel, MP

Germany

Karl Schieverling, MP

Germany

Johannes Singhammer

Germany

Walter Banegas, MP

Honduras

Satya Pal Singh, MP

India

Mohammedali Yaseen Taha, MP

Iraq

Yoav Kisch, MP

Israel

Marina Berlinghieri, MP

Italy

Ernesto Preziosi, MP

Italy

Mohammed Al-Alwan, MP

Jordan

Abdallah Khawaldeh, MP

Jordan

Jude Njomo, MP

Kenya

Ghassan Moukheiber, MP

Lebanon

Mantas Adomenas, MP

Lithuania

Jessie Kabwila, MP

Malawi

Doi Bu, MP

Myanmar

Shwe Maung, MP

Myanmar

Kasthuri Patto, MP

Malaysia

Charles Santiago, MP

Malaysia

Rodrigo Ivan Cortes Jimenez, MP

Mexico

Ruard Ganzevoort, MP

Netherlands

Sokonte Davies, MP

Nigeria

Sylvi Graham, MP

Norway

Marit Nybakk, MP

Norway

Assiya Nasir, MP

Pakistan

José María Ibañez, MP

Paraguay

Julio Pablo Rosas Huaranga, MP

Peru

Elene Marie Ndionetine, MP

Senegal

Cheryllyn Dudley, MP

South Africa

Nqabayomzi Kwankwa, MP

South Africa

Mohamed Ali Mohamed Adam Nimer, MP

Sudan

Yu Mei-Nu, MP

Taiwan

Bochra Bel Haj Hmida, MP Tunisia

Mehrezia Labidi-Maiza, MP Tunisia

Lord David Alton United Kingdom

Bishop Nick Baines United Kingdom

Diane Dodds, MP United Kingdom Jim Shannon, MP United Kingdom

Stephen Timms, MP United Kingdom

Gerardo Amarillo, MP Uruguay